Diwali is a festival which is celebrated in India and Nepal. The festival of lights. On this day, millions of Hindus across the globe are celebrating the festival of lights which signifies triumph of the light of knowledge over the darkness of nescience, of good over evil, and of righteousness over unrighteousness.

On occasion of Diwali, the Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore compared light to ‘universal love’ and wrote :

“Light, my light, the world-filling light, the eye-kissing light, heart-sweetening light!
Ah, the light dances, my darling, at the centre of my life; the light strikes, my darling, the chords of my love; the sky opens, the wind runs wild, laughter passes over the earth.
The butterflies spread their sails on the sea of light. Lilies and jasmines surge up on the crest of the waves of light.
The light is shattered into gold on every cloud, my darling, and it scatters gems in profusion.
Mirth spreads from leaf to leaf, my darling, and gladness without measure.
The heaven’s river has drowned its banks and the flood of joy is abroad.”

Like each lit candle, we can also burn,
and rid the darkness surrounding us;
And in our hearts and minds as well,
Making the world a brighter place,
in the days to come, for the human race!’

With blessing and love to all

Serena

