Cinnamon road


The old city,
Turn left,
the second corner,
centre of the old neighborhood,
the flower cafe
still there,
cinnamon in the air.

Across the street,
a stranger,
Whom I knew him once
Wave his hand
amused eyes,
yet,
still untouchable green inside.

Happiness is not
an easy road
to find,
or continue.
Full of different scents,
The missing mates,
Forgotten family albums.

Today, I don’t care,
how many memories marsh
In and out of my coffee cup,
I stay on happiness road,
moving forward.

Back to the old city,
with uneven asphalts
polluted air,
and its mad crowds,
yet,
in its strangeness
The senses rise in my heart,
welcome me back home.

Breeze after the rain,
touch my back
while something called fate
cover the ground
in front of my feet
in whiteness of orchids,
hold my head,
in graceful clouds,
so I never look back.

Winds comb my hair,
with timeless brush,
I have one more sip
On my half full cup,
counting my steps
On happiness road
while the gate of forgetfulness
close soundless
behind my back.

From window to window,
sparrows play and dance,
chase the cinnamon smell in the air,
Oh, my coffee taste good.

In the old city,
My heart
silently climbs,
reach to the roof of sky
offer my empty cup,
and shyly say
“please pour me
with more love”

© Serena Devi, April 2011

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon road

  1. Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time sitting down to writing short stories and poems is something I truly enjoy in life. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

  2. thank you…I am glad that you liked it…it is great to have your presence… good luck with your writing… it a great gift that I enjoy it myself very much… blessing Serena

Leave a Reply

